KPFA-FM Music Dept. ➔ The Composer: Leland Smith, 1 of 2

Analog Audio

Event Type
Program Length
75 min
1 of 2
1967-09-27 | broadcast
| 402 | created
In this program, originally broadcast in 1967, composer Leland Smith discusses his interest in computer music as well as presenting some of his earlier more traditional compositions. The program begins with a lengthy discussion of the evolution of computer music complete with numerous examples of very early and simple digitally derived sounds based on algorithms by John Chowning and David Poole, and which was produced by Smith while sitting in front of a teletype console. Smith illustrates how using basic sine waves and a graphic interface that can control the attack and duration, numerous different types of notes and chords could be produced. Smith also talks about the ease with which these sounds could be manipulated, although he does admit that the learning curve for new notation and programing is steep but rewarding. Smith then tries to draw a line between his earlier, more traditional, chamber, symphonic, and solo piano works, and the type of computer music he was then currently interested in. Smith went on, in the 1970s to develop a music typography system called SCORE, which served as a benchmark for many years.
Electro-Acoustic / Electronic
20th century classical
Musical Selections
[demonstrations of computer music, talked over] (ca. 1967) -- Wind Quintet, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and horn (ca. 1947-49) (9:29) -- Symphony No. 1 [excerpt, scherzo movement] (1951) (3:16) -- Intermezzo and Capriccio, for piano (1952) (5:48)
San Francisco Little Symphony (Symphony)
20th century classical
Electronic music
Computer music
Wind quintets (Bassoon, clarinet, flute, horn, oboe)
Piano music