Other Minds Special Programs ➔ Other Minds Presents: Two-Piano Works of Shostakovich and Stravinsky, Pt. 1 of 2

Digital Audio

Event Type
Other Minds
Program Length
115 min
1 of 2
2019-02-10 | created
On Sunday, February 10, 2019, Other Minds presented a rare opportunity to hear arrangements of works for two pianos composed by Igor Stravinsky and Dmitri Shostakovich, and arranged by Shostakovich himself. The piano duo of conductor Dennis Russell Davies and pianist Maki Namekawa performed Igor Stravinsky's "Symphony of Psalms" and Dmitri Shostakovich's "Symphony No. 4, Opus 43".

The first half of the concert heard here, began humorously with the "encore", which featured a waltz and a polka by Dmitri Shostakovich, from the Soviet film "Unity", followed by Igor Stravinsky's "Symphony of Psalms" in three movements.

From the Program Notes: "The transcription of Psalms was written for Shostakovich’s composition students at the Leningrad Conservatory but was never publicly performed during his lifetime. It joins other examples of pianized Stravinsky: The Firebird, Pétroushka, Les Noces, and The Rite of Spring, works otherwise unavailable in the years before modern recordings. "
20th century classical
Musical Selections
Untitled Waltz [from film "Unity"] (2:09) -- Untitled Polka [from film "Unity"] (1:36) / Dmitri Shostakovich -- Symphony of Psalms (1930) [arr. by Dmitri Shostakovich]: Psalm 38, Exaudi orationem meam, Domine (2:45) ; Psalm 39, Expectans expectavi, Dominum (6:45) ; Psalm 150, Alleluia. Laudate Dominum (9:35) / Igor Stravinsky
Maki Namekawa, piano
Dennis Russell Davies, piano
Piano music (Pianos (2)), Arranged
Piano music (4 hands)