Other Minds Special Programs ➔ Other Minds Presents: Two-Piano Works of Shostakovich and Stravinsky, Pt. 2 of 2

Digital Audio

Event Type
Other Minds
Program Length
115 min
2 of 2
2019-02-10 | created
On Sunday, February 10, 2019, Other Minds presented a rare opportunity to hear arrangements of works for two pianos composed by Igor Stravinsky and Dmitri Shostakovich, and arranged by Shostakovich himself. The piano duo of conductor Dennis Russell Davies and pianist Maki Namekawa performed Igor Stravinsky's "Symphony of Psalms" and Dmitri Shostakovich's "Symphony No. 4, Opus 43" which is heard here, in the second half of the concert.

From the Program Notes: "The Symphony is an unknown treasure of the two-piano repertoire. Much of this has to do with the scandal around its non-premiere, but also in 1945 after Shostakovich and Moisey Vainberg performed the piece privately, and only 300 copies of the two-piano version were printed. It wasn’t until 1960, when Shostakovich and Boris Tishchenko performed the piece in the two-piano version, that it was heard publicly for the first time."
20th century classical
Musical Selections
Symphony No. 4, Op. 43 (1936) [arr. by Dmitri Shostakovich] ; Allegretto poco moderato (30:48) ; Moderato con moto (10:02) ; Largo-Allegro (32:55) / Dmitri Shostakovich
Maki Namekawa, piano
Dennis Russell Davies, piano